To become a licensed attorney in Arizona, you must complete a formal education, go to some other classes, and then pass a bar exam. If you meet those requirements, then you can be a lawyer in Arizona if you also pass a background investigation and meet character and fitness requirements. You also must be at least 21 years of age.
Applicants should ideally graduate from a law school that is accredited by the American Bar Association. Going to an unapproved school might not be sufficient to get a license in this state.
The bar exam in Arizona is all written, like the typical exam in this field.
After getting your license, the state requires you to attend a course on professional responsibility within one year. This could be the state bar course or a course approved by the Board of Governors.
The fees for the application and exam run at about $375.
Note that there is limited reciprocal licensing of attorneys in Arizona. You can file a motion with the Supreme Court and apply for a license. But you have to have been active as a licensed attorney in at least 3 of the past 5 years in another jurisdiction. You also need to have graduated from an ABA-approved school and have obtained a law degree by examination. Either the place you took the exam or the place where you practiced must be a reciprocal state.