The Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure provides licensing to cosmetologists in Colorado. Although no experience is required, education and exams must be completed to get this state license.
Private cosmetology schools and colleges can be found by using the directory on the Division of Private Occupational Schools website. There are also some apprenticeships listed in the directory.
There are a number of cosmetology programs at community and junior colleges, as well.
As of the time of this writing, PSI handles the cosmetology licensing exams. They actually administer a written test and a separate practical exam. The fees are $56 and $71, respectively. If you have to retake one, they are $51 and $66.
There is an extra $28 license application fee. Submit an application to register for the PSI Colorado cosmetology exams. You must pay for and take and pass the practical exam first.
But if you are applying for a license by endorsement, you need to use the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies online application system. And this is $50. Note that you need to have passed the tests to get licensed in the other jurisdiction.
PSI has a Colorado cosmetologist Candidate Information Bulletin. It tells you what you need to study and what materials you need for the practical portion of the testing. You must pass both portions within a year. Otherwise, you must apply and pay fees again.
Colorado has a cosmetology education system that relies on credit hours. Applicants must have 1 credit hour in the following: Facial Makeup, Laws, rules, and regulations, and Management, ethics, interpersonal skills, and salesmanship. 2 credit hours of shampooing, rinsing, and conditioning are required. Hair removal is the required 3-hour course. Chemical texture services must be 4 hours, and Application of artificial nails must be 5 hours. The one 6-credit-hour course is Disinfection, cleaning, and safe work practices. The 7-hour courses are Manicuring and pedicuring, hairstyling, and Facials and skin care. Haircoloring and Haircutting are 8 credit hours each. These classes are a total of 60 credit hours. And 75 percent must be clinical training. Approved schools in Colorado would generally be set up to provide all required classes.
Most states determine minimum cosmetology training via clock hours, not credit hours. If you attended such a school, 30 clock hours will count as 1 credit hour. This could be a problem in some cases because many states have a 1600-hour course. But 30 x 60 is 1800 hours. So it’s not clear whether you may have to take some extra classes to complete 60 total credit hours.