Apple Juice And Cider Manufacturer and Bottler License Requirements In Connecticut

Manufacturers and bottlers of both apple juice and cider must get a license from the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection’s Food and Standards Division. Because an inspection is required before the license will be issued, it is important to know the standards even before choosing or building a manufacturing or bottling plant.

This is actually a cheap license to get just in terms of the license fee. It is only $20. But the part that could be very expensive is compliance with the standards.

This is more of a business than a professional license. So things like education, training, and exams are not requirements. Rather, safety and quality of production in the manufacturing or bottling process is paramount.

You can either apply online or with a paper application. If you write a check or money order, make it payable to Treasurer, State of CT.

https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

http://ct.gov/dcp/lib/dcp/pdf/applications_added_2013/ajcider_11_01_mod.pdf

Before you apply or even finalize your business plans, it would be good to give a call to the Food And Standards Division and let them know what kind of business you intend to run. They may give you an inspection checklist that you can use to prepare all aspects of your apple juice or cider manufacturing or bottling business. Their telephone number is 860) 713-6160. And their email address is food.standards@ct.gov.

Another thing you can do is look over the rules and regulations that specifically related to apple cider and apple juice. These cover multiple aspects of the manufacturing process and even characteristics of the physical plant. For example, pressing rooms must have concrete floors, and only “sound apples” may be used in the manufacturing of juice or cider.

There are also rules related to the equipment you use. Although equipment sellers might help you here, it is still vital that you have your own team check all Connecticut legal requirements. My recommendation is to read each rule and then come up with your own checklist on how to comply with that rule. For example, one rule is that all equipment must be thoroughly cleaned at the end of each day’s run. This would require to incorporate cleaning into the work schedule of each daily run. If you run a 24-hour business, then you must select a time of day when the run ends and have a plan one exactly how to clean all the equipment. This is just one example. It could take hundreds of hours to plan all this. So while the license is actually cheap, it requires an immense amount of preparation. The following page has links to all the rules.

https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7BF82DFF59-D34C-478E-A3BC-C5FE38662E56%7D

Connecticut License For Animal Importers And Sales And Adoption Public Events

The Connecticut Department of Agriculture has a license program for certain animal importers. The purpose of the program is to issue licenses that are mandatory for importers who bring in animals for adoption or sales purposes. Any transfer for any type of consideration triggers the statute’s requirements. The law requiring this license is an extension of rules related to pet shops and kennels. Certain public events related to imported animals also require registration.

The importer license law mentions dogs and cats. Even if you are located out of state, you must register with the Connecticut Department of Agriculture and select an agent for service of process in case of a legal dispute.

The statute says that the fee is $100, and there is an annual renewal of this license. It can be denied for any violations related to health and safety of the imported animals. Because the $100 fee is by statute, the Department cannot change that. But the legislature might change the law in the future and could modify the fee at that time.

Registration is required only for the person or company responsible for the importing, not individual employees or volunteers.

Registration is mandatory. Failure to do so could result in a $500 fine.

There is also a mandatory event registration. This does not appear to apply to private one-on-one sales of dogs or cats. But it applies when you advertise to the public that you will be selling dogs or cats at a special event. But this rule is for importers only. On the face of it, this does not seem to apply to the sale of local animals by a person who did not import them. You must provide notice to the Department of Agriculture at least 10 days before the scheduled event.

There is an exception that relates to pet shops. If you are specifically selling to a licensed pet shop in Connecticut, you would not have to get an animal importer license as long as you directly send the dogs or cats to the purchasing pet shop.

All animal importers must also get a vet’s examination of the animal not more than 2 days after importation. And if the importer is selling the animal to someone, a vet’s report is required no more than 15 days before the sale. Licensees must also keep the vet records. The other exam requirement is a report from a vet that the animal is free of communicable diseases. And this exam must be given no more than 30 days before importation. A dog or cat that is at least 3 months old must be vaccinated for rabies.

The animal importer license and event registration forms can be found on the below page. The links were near the top at the time of this post.

http://www.ct.gov/DOAG/cwp/view.asp?a=3767&q=487148

Connecticut Registered Nurse (RN) License Qualifications

Connecticut has a fairly standard licensing process for registered nurses. There are plenty of options to attend an RN college degree program in this state. You can generally then get a license by passing the appropriate exam.

Connecticut has degree programs all the way from 2-year associate degrees to master’s degrees. There are many reasons why someone might want to earn a bachelor’s degree or higher, such as career advancement. But there are 2-year programs that do qualify you to sit for the Connecticut RN licensing exam. Whatever you decide, you can view a list of programs approved by the Department of Public Health for aspiring registered nurses.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3143&q=388918&dphNav_GID=1829

In addition to the above, Excelsior College has a correspondence-type program that has been approved. Their RN associate degree is enough. But some people get a 4-year nursing degree through Excelsior. You will have to check and see if any other external/correspondence programs have been accepted. But no others were mentioned at the time I checked. Presumably, the typical accredited degree in other states would be acceptable. But if you intend to go to nursing school in another state and then get a job in Connecticut, I would check before enrolling just to make sure.

If you don’t already have a license in another state, you need to apply for a Connecticut RN license by examination. This is a pretty standard process in U.S. states. And this state is no different in that they use the NCLEX-RN licensing exam.

You go straight to the NCLEX-RN if your registered nurse program was in the United States. Otherwise, you generally have to go through the CGFNS International Certification Program. Then, you take the NCLEX just like a U.S.-trained nurse. At the time of this post, the exams are administered at Pearson VUE.

Connecticut charges a $180 RN license application fee. You must apply online through the state’s government website, as the licensing board is not accepting any more paper applications, at least at the time of this post.

https://www.elicense.ct.gov/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=/Activities/Listing.aspx&ID=10

However, you need to actually register for the test and then submit your license application. Test registration can be done after you graduate. But talk with your school because you may be able to register a little early. You can register on Pearson VUE’s website. The basic NCLEX-RN test fee is $200, as of July 2016.

http://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex/?REDIRECT_TIMESTAMP=1467788168049

Connecticut License Requirements For Paramedics

In addition to certification for EMRs, EMTs, and EMS instructors, the Connecticut Department of Public Health provides a license to paramedics. If you don’t currently have a license in a different state, you can apply for a license by examination. If you are already licensed elsewhere, you can apply by endorsement.

Before you can take a test to become a paramedic in Connecticut, you will have to attend a paramedic training course. There are occasional courses available in Connecticut, although apparently not as many as for the EMR and EMT courses. At any rate, you can look for upcoming approved paramedic training courses on a list provided by the Department of Public Health. The file with the training list can be found on the following page.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3127&q=387358&dphNav=|&dphNav_GID=1827

You can also complete an out-of-state program. However, it must be a mobile intensive care training program that meets the standards of the U.S. Department of Transportation paramedic National Standard Curriculum. Note that the Department must specifically approve of any Connecticut program. So don’t sign up to any program unless it is on the training list discussed above.

The practical and written exam required of Connecticut paramedic license applicants is the NREMT test for paramedics, which is from the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians.

Although Connecticut EMR and EMT certification is free to apply for, the state charges $150 for paramedic license applications. Your instructor must directly send verification of your training to the Department. Verification of your exam results is done via an NREMT number that you must include on your license application.

In some situations, you can become a Connecticut licensed paramedic without taking the exam. This applies when you have a current out-of-state license. However, the state will look to see if the standards for licensing of the state are at least as high as the standards required of Connecticut license applicants by examination. This is usually going to be the case since most states also require a training course and national certification testing. Proof of the license or certification must be sent directly from the licensing agency of the other state. You might or might not have to pay a fee for this service. States which definitely meet the standards are Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

The fee for a license by endorsement is the same as above for examination.

The license application for Connecticut paramedics starts on Page 6 of the following information packet.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/ems/pdf/forms/2015_03_27_paramedic_app.pdf

Connecticut License Requirements For a Certified Emergency Medical Technician (Including Advanced EMT)

There are two EMT certifications in Connecticut. The Department of Public Health issues licenses for emergency medical technicians and advanced emergency medical technicians. An EMT must be at least 16 years of age. If you are 14 or 15, you can apply for certification as an EMR.

Both EMTs and advanced EMTs use the same application and renewal application forms. I am listing them here for your convenience.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/ems/pdf/forms/2015_initial_app_paper_fillable.pdf

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/ems/pdf/forms/2015_renewal_app_paper_fillable.pdf

Both of these Connecticut certifications require training and a passing score on an EMT licensing exam. And to become an advanced EMT, you must first be certified as an EMT.

EMTs must complete a training course that is at least 150 hours. The advanced emergency medical technician course is separate. It must be at least 100 hours. The Connecticut Department of Public Health has a schedule of future EMT and AEMT training classes. You will see a link near the top of the page posted below. The courses are held in many different Connecticut cities. I did not see any advanced EMT courses when checking at the time of this post. Hopefully, this is just a temporary thing. But you could also call EMT instructors and ask them about the next available AEMT course.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3127&q=387358&dphNav=|&dphNav_GID=1827

These licenses require an exam with both written and practical portions. Get the schedule for this from your instructor. EMT testing consists of a practical psychomotor exam and the National Registry written test.

A test is required for the initial training plus refresher training courses. But the refresher courses are considerably shorter. They are at least 30 hours for emergency medical technicians and 53 hours for the advanced certification. You must schedule and complete a refresher course and apply for renewal between one year before your expiration date and 90 days after it. But it is recommended to train and renew several months before your certification expires.

If you are already certified as an EMT or AEMT in another state, disregard the above about training and exams. Generally speaking, you will already be qualified to get a license by endorsement by applying with the Department of Public Health (use the same form listed near the top of this article). Some exceptions apply. The training you took must meet the national standards for EMT training.

As of July 2016, there is no fee for these Connecticut EMT certification applications.

Connecticut License Requirements For a Certified Emergency Medical Responder

Certified emergency medical responders (EMR) are licensed in Connecticut by the Department of Public Health. A Connecticut EMR only has to be 14 years of age. But parental consent is required of all applicants under 18.

The Department of Public Health approves EMR training programs. You must complete one of these 60-hour courses if you attend school in Connecticut. It is possible to attend training in another state. But the program must meet the standards established by the EMT National Standard Curriculum. If you happen to already be an emergency medical technician, advanced emergency medical technician, or paramedic, then you can skip the EMR training program and go straight to the exam.

All EMR applicants must pass a written and practical exam. The test is set up through your emergency medical responder training course. So get with them to determine the time and place and other registration and scheduling information.

When you apply, you must disclose any and all certifications that you have or did have in the past in other states.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/ems/pdf/forms/2015_ems_out_of_state_cert_verification_form_fillable.pdf

You can print and submit a paper application and present it to the Connecticut Department of Public Health.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/ems/pdf/forms/2015_initial_app_paper_fillable.pdf

The Department of Public Health has a list of approved training sessions that take place in various cities throughout Connecticut. Refer to this to see upcoming courses for EMR, EMT, and Paramedic. You may have to look at the Education and Training page to get a link to the latest upcoming courses.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/ems/pdf/training/2016/course_report_2016_06_10_.pdf

http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3127&q=387358&dphNav=|&dphNav_GID=1827

Once you are certified as an EMR, you will occasionally have to take a refresher course. The documents above also have refresher course schedules. The course is about 18 hours in length, and the course will include an exam. You must take this less than a year before your EMR license expiration date. At the very latest, you must renew within 90 days after the expiration date. The renewal form is different than the initial certification form. Also, you should get a course completion form from your refresher course.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/ems/pdf/forms/2015_renewal_app_paper_fillable.pdf

If you have a current out-of-state EMR license, then you can apply for a Connecticut certification by endorsement. It uses the same application form as the one posted above. Psychomotor and cognitive examinations may still be required of endorsement applicants. This depends on the particulars of your current out-of-state certification.

Connecticut Podiatry Standard And Advanced Ankle Surgery Permits

Licensed podiatrists in Connecticut need a permit for certain kinds of ankle surgery. They should be aware of when a permit is needed and how to qualify for either one of them. Neither permit allows total ankle replacements or tibial pilon fracture treatments.

A standard ankle surgery permit is for soft tissue and osseous procedures. Advanced ankle surgery permits are for a wider range of more complex or difficult procedures. These include fracture fixation, fusion, arthroscopy, and use of external fixation pins for the tibial diaphysis at or below the myotendinous junction of the triceps surae.

Procedures requiring an advance ankle surgery permit also include the use of retrograde tibiotalocalcaneal intramedullary rods and locking screws if they are placed up to the myotendinous junction of the triceps surae. However, surgery may be performed without a permit for complications related to the use of external pins in relation to the tibial diaphysis.

For a standard permit, you will have to have attended a 3-year residency program if you graduated on or after June 1, 2006. But that is just the first requirement. You must also have one of the following: American Board of Podiatric Surgery certification in reconstructive rearfoot ankle surgery, or board qualified and documentation of sufficient proof of knowledge and skill to perform the relevant procedures, as determined by the Board. But if you are only board qualified and not certified, you may not perform tibial and fibular ostetomies.

If you graduated before June 1, 2006, your residency program must have been at least 2 years. But in this case, you must be certified by the American Board of Podiatric Surgery plus provide sufficient documentation of qualifications.

The advanced ankle surgery permit requires you to meet the standard permit requirements. Plus, you must be Board certified regardless of the date of your graduation. And the state licensing board expects to see additional documentation showing that you have the necessary knowledge and skills to perform the advanced procedures.

There is a $180 application fee for either permit. Scroll down in the following document to find the application form.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/practitioner_licensing_and_investigations/plis/podi/ankleprmtapp.pdf

Documentation mentioned above refers to proof that the podiatrist seeking a surgery permit has the training and experience for standard or advanced midfoot, rearfoot and ankle procedures.

Connecticut Acupuncturist License Requirements

Acupuncturists are licensed in Connecticut by the Department of Public Health. The main requirements are education, acupuncture clinical training, and a national licensing exam.

The first educational requirement is to have at least 60 semester credit hours in college. This is 2 years of education. It can be in a foreign country as long as the college or university was a legally authorized degree-granting institution. In the U.S., college credit counts if it was at a regionally accredited university.

An acupuncture degree program is also required. The school you attend must have been accredited by the ACAOM, which is the Accreditation Commission For Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. However, either candidate status or actual accreditation is sufficient, but only if such status existed at the time of program completion.

In Connecticut, the University of Bridgeport is fully accredited for acupuncture. They award a master’s degree. Check with them individually to make sure their current program matches the required hours, including clinical training. There are several acupuncturist schools in New York, too. You can search for schools nationwide using ACAOM’s database.

http://www.acaom.org/find-a-school/

On October 1, 2012, Connecticut increased the number of hours required of the acupuncture program. Before then it was 1350 hours, with at least 500 being clinical. It is now 1950, with at least 660 being clinical. However, if you graduated before October 1, 2012, then you do not have to meet the new standard. There is one additional course that applicants have to complete. That is the CCAOM Clean Needle Technique Course.

The NCCAOM is the organization that administers the national acupuncturist exam. You must pass the Acupuncture Portion, Clean Needle Technique Portion, Comprehensive Written Exam in Acupuncture, and the Practical Examination of Point Location Skills.

There is a $200 application fee for a California acupuncturist license. Make payments to the Treasurer of the State of Connecticut.

http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/practitioner_licensing_and_investigations/plis/acupuncture/acu_apponly.pdf

For the tests, the NCCAOM has a page with a handbook and application forms. If you pass their test, you can become a Diplomate of Acupuncture. As of the time of this writing, there is a $475 certification fee (separate from Connecticut’s license fee) and a test fee of $300. It is $500 for the exam if taking it in Chinese or Korean.

http://www.nccaom.org/applicants/handbook-and-applications/

Mortgage Loan Originator License In Connecticut

Mortgage loan originators, including employees of a company, need to have a Connecticut license if they negotiate residential mortgage contracts. This rule applies if the activity is intended for profit. The Connecticut Department of Banking issues this license.

Note: There are about a dozen different exceptions to this state license requirement. You can read about those exemptions on the following page.

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/PublishedStateDocuments/CT-Loan-Originator-Description.pdf

—–

If you want this mortgage loan officer license, you will need to agree to submission of a credit report plus a background check.

Connecticut requires 21 hours of pre-licensing education. Training providers approved by the NMLS should know exactly which classes you need to take. Make sure you tell them you are going to be applying for a Connecticut mortgage loan originator license. You can use the following page to find training providers in your area.

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/education/mcc/Pages/default.aspx

You will also need to pass either one or two mortgage exams. They could be the SAFE test National and Connecticut components, the SAFE test National and Stand-Alone UST components, or the National Test Component With Uniform State Content.

License fees are $330, but you may also have $15 credit report and $36 background checks.

If you are an employee of a mortgage broker, lender, or correspondent lender, then the employer will have to present a surety bond. The amount differs, so the employer should ask the Department of Banking about the amount if not sure.

Applicants for this Connecticut license should fill out an MU4 form with NMLS.

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Loan-Officer-MU4-Filing.pdf (MU4 Form Instructions)

Source:

Connecticut Mortgage And Lending Licenses
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/Pages/DynamicLicenses.aspx?StateID=CT

Connecticut Mortgage Broker, Lender, Correspondent Lender, And Servicer Licenses

Connecticut has various mortgage licensing requirements. This article deals with the licensing programs for mortgage brokers, lenders, correspondent lenders, and servicers.

Brokers must have a net worth of at least 50K and a surety bond in the amount of 50K. A broker would also typically need at least 1 licensed mortgage loan originator. Use the following checklist and MU1 instructions to apply for this license.

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/PublishedStateDocuments/CT-Mtg-Broker-Newapplication-checklist.pdf

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Company%20%28MU1%29%20Form%20Filing%20Instructions.pdf (MU1 Instructions)

Mortgage lenders have similar requirements. But they have net-worth requirements of 250K and a surety bond of 100K.

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/PublishedStateDocuments/CT-Mtg-Lender-Newapplication-checklist.pdf

Note: Brokers and lenders who have to get a license in Connecticut are those dealing in residential properties.

A mortgage correspondent lender is someone who deals in residential mortgages, but they do not hold the mortgage for more than 90 days, and someone else is funding the transactions. So correspondent lenders need a net worth of only 50K, but they still need a surety bond of 100K.

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/PublishedStateDocuments/CT-Mtg-Corresp-Lender-Newapplication-checklist.pdf

Mortgage servicers are those handle the money, process paperwork, etc. They must have a bond of 100K and errors and omission insurance. A fidelity bond may also be required. Use the checklist page below to see the amount of insurance you need. There is a chart that you use to figure this out.

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/PublishedStateDocuments/CT-Mortgage_Servicer-Company-New-App-Checklist.pdf

These licenses are $1100, except the broker one, which is $600. You also have to renew on a yearly basis by the end of the year.