Connecticut has 2 licenses for hearth product workers. One is for contractors, and the other is for journeypersons. Each license has specific training/education and exam requirements. There are also some experience requirements for each license. Contractors can enter into their own contract work, but journeypersons must be employed by a contractor.
Note: G-1 and G-2 licenses are similar but different than hearth product licenses in Connecticut. These are for heating, piping, and cooling, so they include work on some gas piping. You can read this article for information on those separate license categories.
In Connecticut law, heart products include propane or natural gas fired fireplaces, fireplace inserts, stoves, or log sets. They also include associated venting and piping that simulates a flame or a solid fuel fire. Licensed contractors or journeypersons may perform installation, service, and repair of hearth products.
HPG-1 is the license for contractors. To get this license, the candidate must have 2 years of experience as a licensed hearth journeyperson. Training requirements include completion of an NFI certificate contractor course. The exam is given by PSI. Contractors must pass the hearth gas products test and a separate Connecticut law and business exam. Those with a current contracting business in another state might be given an exemption from the 2 years of work as a journeyperson. This will depend on which documents you submit to show your level of knowledge and experience.
HPG-2 is the hearth journeyperson license. 500 hours of experience in the field plus factory training are required for this license. Journeypersons must take one exam. That is the hearth gas products trade test. The business and law exam is not required of journeypersons since they do not run their own business or negotiate their own contracts with hearth product owners.
Information on the exams can be found in the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for “Gas Supply, Storage, Piping, and Equipment.” You can get exam eligibility application forms in this booklet. After you pass the tests, you will receive more information and forms on how to get your license.
As of 2016, contractors pay an application fee of $150 and $65 for each test ($130 since they take 2). Journeypersons pay $90 plus $65 for the hearth gas products trade exam.