How To Get Certified As a Home Inspector In Wyoming

Close to half of U.S. states do not generally require a license for work as a home inspector. Wyoming is one of those states. However, you should be aware that certain kinds of inspections, such as code enforcement, may require a license. In Wyoming, this is generally done at the city level. So whether you need a license typically depends on your local area.

The home inspection industry is comprised of a group of professionals who inspect for defects when a house is being sold to a different buyer. Home inspectors who operate without a license because the state doesn’t issue one are typically limited to older homes that have already been used as a residence. Inspections on new construction will often require a building inspector license or something similar. So if you want to be a home inspector in Wyoming, prepare to limit your activities to homes being sold by an existing owner to a new owner. Inspections of new homes are generally done to see if they are up to code. And that may require a special license.

Some people like to get certification as a home inspector even in a state where a license is not required. This adds credibility to an inspector and his or her business. And credibility often means more clients and money in the long run.

There are multiple national organizations that can train you up on how to be a home inspector and also certify you at the completion of the training. However, most require you to pass either their own test or something like the National Home Inspector Examination. These are private organizations, so they set their own rules on certification. No one from the Wyoming government has anything to do with these private certifications. They are just to help you in your business and are not mandatory at all. Some organizations you can consider getting certified with are ASHI, NACHI, ICA, and PHII. Costs are typically something like $500. If they do make you take the NHIE, then that’s usually an additional $200 too $225. CodeInspection.com is one source for building inspector training on code enforcement. This is not required for home inspection certification, but it can help you expand your expertise and array of services.

Wisconsin License Requirements For Home Inspectors

The Department of Safety and Professional Services licenses home inspectors in Wisconsin. This is a 2-year license that must be renewed in December of every even year.

Individuals who do home inspections for compensation must be licensed in this state. A home inspection is the process of examining the readily accessible observable systems and components of a residential building. Checking a home for energy performance is not considered a home inspection so long as the professional does not claim to be doing a home inspection. Applicants who have committed any crime that is substantially related to home inspections do not qualify for a Wisconsin license. This also refers to pending charges, not just convictions.

Like most states, Wisconsin requires you to pass an exam to get licensed (the terms “registration” and “registered” are used in this state) as a home inspector. However, unlike most states, the statute does not mention required training.

Even if an educational course is not required, that doesn’t mean you should not get training because you at least have to know enough to pass the test.

The Wisconsin home inspector exam consists of a trade exam on actual home inspection principles and procedures plus a 2nd part on Wisconsin laws and rules related to this profession. There is a passing score for both parts. So you must pass both without averaging to pass the entire exam.

Applicants may retest if they fail. The statute does not mention a maximum number of attempts. But this is naturally dealt with by the fact that you have to pay the test fee again every single time.

PSI administers the National Home Inspector Examination. You can use the following page to register for the test. It is about $225.

https://candidate.psiexams.com/catalog/fti_agency_license_details.jsp?fromwhere=findtest&testid=2329

The page below is a license application that also functions as a test registration form for the Wisconsin state portion of the test. For most applicants, the fees for the license and the state test are $150 (75 each).

http://dsps.wi.gov/Documents/Credentialing%20Forms/Business%20Application%20Forms/fm2466.pdf

The state test is done online at home. So you can access all the related statutes and administrative rules and refer to them when taking the exam. But you must get at least 85 percent correct for a passing score.

After the first renewal, a Wisconsin home inspector must obtain 40 hours of credit in continuing education. This is not necessary for the initial registration period.

Home Inspector License Qualifications In West Virginia

Home inspectors are licensed in West Virginia by the State Fire Marshal’s Office’s Regulatory and Licensing Section. This Office does not provide its own training. But they require training from an approved education provider. All applicants must also pass a licensing exam, have insurance, and meet other miscellaneous qualifications.

In West Virginia, the term “license” is not used with home inspectors. They use the term “certification,” which is somewhat confusing because that word is usually used in a nongovernmental setting. Nonetheless, this particular “certification” is a legal requirement for West Virginia home inspectors, not a voluntary process.

The State Fire Marshal’s Office has a list of approved schools that can fulfill the 80-hour training requirement. This state does not accept Internet or distance education. So you must attend a live class. The list of approved courses is on the following page.

http://www.firemarshal.wv.gov/documents/home%20inspectors%20approved%20courses.pdf

There are 2 tests that you may take. However, when checking recently, it seems that NAHI let its website domain registration lapse. It’s not clear whether they are even going to be in business in the future. Previously, they did have a test program that was accepted by West Virginia. But you can always just take the other test, which is the National Home Inspector Examination. Details on the NHIE can be found on their website, which is at homeinspectionexam.org. They have a list of recommended references, which you may or may not already have in connection with your approved training program.

Other requirements include the following: high school diploma or GED, background check, Department of Tax and Revenue business license, the license application fee of $150, and general liability insurance of at least 250K. The Fire Marshal says that you can contact MorphoTrust.com to process a criminal background check. When you submit your application, which can be found on the page posted below, you should make payment to WVSFMO.

http://www.firemarshal.wv.gov/Documents/2015%201%20HOME%20INSPECTOR%20APPLICATION.pdf

Additional documents and the statutes that govern home inspector certification in West Virginia can be found on the following page:

http://www.firemarshal.wv.gov/Divisions/Fire%20Services/Pages/Home-Inspector-Certification.aspx

Home Inspector License Requirements In The Washington, D.C. Area

When contemplating a home inspector career in the area of Washington, D.C., consider that many businesses in this area attempt to maximize their potential by obtaining legal authority to operate in D.C., Maryland, and Virginia. If you want to do this, then you need to know how to become a licensed or certified home inspector in all 3 jurisdictions.

First, there is no license or certification requirement in Washington, D.C. You may have to get a general business license. But there is no home inspector license. However, what I am referring to is the act of inspecting a home that is being sold by the owner to a new owner. This article does not deal with inspections of newly constructed residences or other code-enforcement activities. Home inspectors don’t do code inspections. Rather, they do inspections for possible defects.

If you want to learn more about getting licensed in Maryland as a home inspector, then you can use the search box above and enter “Maryland home inspector license.” Here, I will just briefly summarize the requirements for that state. To do home inspections in Maryland, you must get a license from the Maryland Commission of Real Estate Appraisers and Home Inspectors. They require 72 hours of training plus a passing score on an exam.

Virginia has a rather complex system of certification and licensing. But the license system is actually set to become effective in July of 2017. So if you are just planning to start a career in home inspection in the D.C. area, it may be too late to even worry about certification by the time you read this article. And at the time of this post, it’s not clear yet exactly what requirements will be imposed to get a Virginia home inspector license. Presumably, though, you can expect to have to have some training courses plus a test. Use the search box above or click on the “home inspector license” tag below to find the Virginia article and learn more about certification (up to July of 2017) and licensing for home inspectors in this state.

So at least beginning in July of 2017, you will need a license in Maryland and Virginia to operate in those states. But there is no license requirement in D.C. So you could start a business in D.C. as soon as you get up to speed with home inspection even if you just do self-study. But it is advisable to get training through ASHI, InterNACHI, or some other national organization if you are not experienced in contracting or a similar real estate area. Those organizations can also provide certification. They usually require you to pass a test, such as their own test or the National Home Inspector Examination.

Home Inspector License Requirements In Washington State

The Washington State Home Inspectors Board issues licenses for new inspectors and out-of-state licensees who meet certain requirements. However, Washington has a state portion on its licensing test. So even those seeking a reciprocal license will at least have to take the state portion of the exam.

New home inspectors who don’t already have a license from another state must take a training course that is approved by the Board. Approved courses have 120 hours in the fundamentals of home inspection. The other part of the required training consists of 40 hours in the field with a licensed inspector. Within this 40 hours, trainees must participate or observe at least 5 actual inspections. Use the Home Inspector Education Course Catalog to find a place to study for this profession.

http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/homeinspectors/docs/courseCatalog.pdf

If you trained out of state, the Board must deem your education to be substantially equivalent. This doesn’t necessarily mean the same exact hours. But the Board will probably look to at least see whether you had to do both classroom and field training.

Note On Reciprocal Licensing And Experience:

Although out-of-state licensees don’t have to prove a specific amount of real experience, they do have to have been actively licensed for at least 2 of the 4 years preceding their Washington home inspector license application date.

The Washington home inspector exam has general (national) and state portions. If you are new to the industry, you must take both parts. Reciprocal license applicants need only take the Washington state portion. At $300, the test is a little more expensive than most states. But if you are taking the state portion only, it’s $125.

After completing your course, you register to take the exam with AMP. That is an exam administration company with various offices located throughout the state. You may have to travel to a different city to take the test. However, you can take it on most days since the test is given throughout the year. At the time of this post, there are 12 testing centers. AMP has a Candidate Handbook that you should use to get ready for the exam. It also has registration instructions. This is a closed-book test.

http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/homeinspectors/docs/candidate-handbook.pdf

You will receive a score report and license application instructions if you pass the exam. But there is also a form on the page below. Like the test fee, the license fee is also expensive in this state. It was $680 at the time of this post. Renewals were cheaper but still $375.

http://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/625003.pdf

Virginia Home Inspector License and Certification Requirements

At the time of this writing, Virginia is in the process of instituting a license requirement for home inspectors. Starting on July 1, 2017, all home inspections will require a license. And there will be a specialty designation for newly constructed homes.

Up to the July date, certification by the Board For Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is not required. And neither is certification by any national association or other organization.

Starting in July, the opposite is true in that all home inspectors will have to get a license. But there is a way to instantly get a license on that date by getting voluntary certification before that date. Otherwise, you will have to qualify under the licensing requirements set up by that time.

At the time of this post, the new license rules were still being formulated. But education and probably a licensing exam will be required.

Also starting in July is the New Residential Structure specialty designation. To get an NRS, you must get a license plus obtain additional training in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code’s International Residential Code.

To summarize, a regular license will only be valid for homes that have already been lived in. A license plus the NRS specialty designation will permit home inspectors to inspect both new and older residences.

If you are reading this before July 1, 2017, then you can work to obtain certification before that date so that you will be issued a license at that time. To do this, you need to complete a certified home inspector training course first. The Board does not individually approve any courses. Before signing up for a course, make sure it teaches the areas tested in the National Home Inspector Examination. These are accepted by the Board. ASHI is one that is acceptable. Confirm with any other training providers by asking if their students have successfully been certified in Virginia after completing the course.

The National Home Inspector Examination is the primary accepted test. If you passed an ASHI test in 2000 or earlier, that will be accepted. If you previously passed the CRI exam, that is also accepted.

You also must complete some home inspections to become certified. These rules are as follows:

1. course with 35 hours requires 100 inspections or 50 inspections directly supervised by a certified home inspector; or

2. course with 70 hours requires 50 inspections or 25 inspections directly supervised by a certified home inspector.

In all cases, no more than 50 percent of the hours may be online or through the mail. The other must consist of some kind of classroom or other live training. If you have 10 years of experience and at least 250 home inspections, you generally qualify for certification with attending the required home inspection courses.

Use the Forms and Applications tab on the following page to find the Virginia home inspector certification application form and instructions.

http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/ALHI/#home-inspector

Home (Property) Inspector Licensing In Vermont

Home inspectors must get a license in Vermont pursuant to the requirements of Title 26, Chapter 19. Technically, this license is for property inspectors. That includes all real estate, which naturally also includes homes. Examinations carried out to assess defects, safety issues, and other conditions are considered to be property inspections. The agency that issues the license is the Office of Professional Regulation.

Section 1091 determines the general qualifications for a Vermont home (property) inspector license. First, you must be at least 18 and a high school graduate. Then, you must complete an 80-hour course from an approved education provider. Finally, you must pass a national inspector exam.

Exception: The Director of the Office of Professional Regulation may designate national organizations that certify home inspectors and allow such certification to operate as a substitute for the course and exam. However, for the most part, there won’t be much of a difference since most organizations that certify inspectors also require you to complete a course and take some kind of test. So even if you do go this route, it usually means doing the same exact thing as taking the general route of attending a course and taking an exam. As of 2017, there are 2 organizations that are approved under this exception: NAHI and ASHI. Note that NAHI seems to have disappeared. But ASHI.org is alive and well.

Unless you are qualifying via certification, you will have to take the National Home Inspector Examination. As of now, it appears that ASHI requires you to take this for certification, anyway. So you are most likely going to have to take the NHIE to get licensed in Vermont.

This state uses AMP to administer the NHIE. View the Candidate Handbook on the following page. The fee is $225.

http://documents.goamp.com/Publications/candidateHandbooks/VT-HI-handbook.pdf

Before taking your test, you need to attend an approved course. The Office of Professional Regulation has quite a few national and state (community colleges or private schools) providers approved for the 80-hour class. Click on the appropriate link on the page below to find the list of schools.

https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-of-professions/property-inspectors/education-information.aspx

The license application and instructions can be found by using the links on the page below. There is a $100 application fee. Vermont issues a 2-year renewable license to property inspectors.

https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-of-professions/property-inspectors/forms-applications.aspx

Utah Requirements For a Home Inspector License

According to KUTV, someone has introduced bills to require a home inspector license in Utah in 2003 and 2006. But neither bill became law. So as of the time of this 2017 article, there was still no requirement for home inspectors to get a license at the state level. You should still check for any local requirements.

It is important to distinguish between a licensed building inspector and a home inspector. A building inspector is licensed to do code enforcement. When it comes to residences, that usually means a newly constructed home. But a home inspector is usually called in to inspect for defects in a house that is being sold to a new owner. So these unlicensed home inspectors examine “used” homes instead of new ones. If you want to inspect older homes before they are sold, then you don’t need a license to do this in Utah. But if you are considering getting qualified as a building inspector, you can use the following resource page to find laws, rules, application forms, and the like.

http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/building_inspection.html

Since there are no requirements to operate, there are also no qualifications to become a home inspector in Utah. However, it would not be wise to just suddenly open shop and offer home inspection services. You might be able to competently do that if you are experienced in the construction industry or are already a licensed building inspector. Otherwise, though, it would behoove you to get some training and perhaps get certified before you start a home inspection business. This will give you added credibility that may be helpful in getting more clients.

A lot of inspectors network with real estate agents or attorneys since home buyers are typically already in contact with these other professionals before they even think of ordering a home inspection. To network with real estate brokers and perhaps attorneys, you really want to be certified to give those other professionals confidence that you will do a professional job if they refer you.

While I cannot recommend any specific associations that train and certify home inspectors at the national level, I can give you a list of some for your convenience.

InterNACHI
https://www.nachi.org/utah-certified-licensed-home-inspector.htm

ASHI
http://www.theashischool.com/StateLicensingRequirements/Utah

AHIT
http://www.ahit.com/training/utah.cfm

Utah Building Inspectors Training Program (not for home inspectors, but included here if you are interested in a building inspector license)
http://utahbuildinginspectors.com/

Apprentice, Real Estate, And Professional Home Inspector License Requirements In Texas

Home inspectors are licensed in Texas by the Real Estate Commission. There are 3 levels of licensure. The lowest level is an apprentice inspector. Next up is the real estate inspector, and the highest level is the professional inspector.

Apprentice inspectors do not have education or exam requirements. And they must be directly supervised by a licensed professional inspector. Apprentices do have to pass a background check and have insurance in the amount of $100,000 per occurrence. All applicants must be a Texas resident, legally present in the U.S., and at least 18.

Apprentice applicants pay a $60 application fee, $27 for a background check, and an additional fee if fingerprints are not already on file with the Commission.

Real estate inspectors must be indirectly supervised by a licensed professional inspector. So they can do a job alone. But their overall work activities must be supervised by a professional inspector. 90 classroom hours must be completed to get this level of license. And the applicant must complete one of the following:

1. has been an apprentice inspector at least 3 of the last 12 months and completed at least 25 inspections as an apprentice;

2. 2 years of experience as an architect, engineer, or engineer-in-training plus 8 hours of training in Texas Standard Report Form/Report Writing and 8 more in Texas Standards of Practice/Legal/Ethics Update; or

3. 8 hours in Texas Standard Report Form/Report Writing, 8 more in Texas Standards of Practice/Legal/Ethics Update, 16 in other core inspection subjects, and one of the following:

a. 20 hours of a ride-along field course and 12 hours of interactive experience training;
b. 40 hours of interactive experience training and 8 hours of live interactive webinar sessions; or
c. 3 years of personal experience related to home inspections, such as installation and repair. 2 affidavits from people with knowledge of the work experience (not the actual applicant) are required to qualify through this option.

Real estate inspector application and background check fees total about $137.

A professional inspector applicant must first complete 130 hours of training plus one of the following:

1. real estate inspector at least 12 of the last 24 months and at least 175 indirectly supervised inspections;

2. 8 hours each in Texas Standard Report Form/Report Writing and Texas Standards of Practice/Legal/Ethics Update plus 3 years as an architect, engineer, or engineer-in-training; or

3. 200 additional classroom hours of home inspection training plus one of the following:

a. 24 hours of interactive experience training and 40 hours of ride-along field work;
b. 80 hours of interactive experience training and 16 hours of live interactive webinar sessions; or
c. 5 years of experience in a field involving home inspections, such as installation, repairs, and servicing (2 affidavits required as per c. above).

Both real estate and professional inspectors must also take an exam to get licensed. Apply for a license first after meeting the other qualifications. You will then receive info on how to access the Candidate Handbook.

Professional inspector applicants pay fees totaling about $157.

Approved home inspection education providers can be found on the Texas Real Estate Commission’s website at http://www.trec.texas.gov/inspector/providers/. To fetch application forms for apprentice, real estate, and professional home inspector licenses, use the following pages:

http://www.trec.texas.gov/formslawscontracts/forms/forms-inspector_app.asp

Home Inspector License Qualifications For Tennessee

Home inspectors get a license in Tennessee from the Department of Commerce and Insurance. Age, education, exam, and insurance requirements apply.

Applicants with either a high school diploma or GED can qualify. However, the minimum age is 18.

All candidates must complete a training course that is approved by the state. Tennessee requires all home inspection classes to be at least 90 hours in length and include instruction on actual home inspections plus how to write reports after the completion of an inspection. You can find a list of approved providers and the courses they offer on the page below. Some have the necessary pre-license educational course.

http://www.tn.gov/assets/entities/commerce/attachments/Home_Inspector_Courses_by_Provider.pdf

At the time of this post, the test that is being used for licensing in Tennessee is the National Home Inspector Examination. PSI is the test administrator. The fee, if taken in Tennessee, is $225. Although it’s $200 in some states, there wouldn’t be much sense in traveling since travel expenses would typically be more than what you would save, anyway. The PSI Candidate Information Bulletin gives instructions on how to register for the NHIE. They have test-taking tips, as well. However, more comprehensive advice can be found on the NHIE website, which is at homeinspectionexam.org.

https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=179&bulletinurl=.pdf

Even after completing your education and passing a test, you must have insurance to work or run a business as a home inspector. There are two kinds of insurance. The first is general liability, and Tennessee has a pretty high minimum of $500,000 in coverage. The second type is errors and omissions insurance. The law does not prescribe a minimum for this second type. So the minimum is the lowest amount an insurance company will provide in terms of policy coverage. You will need an ACORD form, which is an insurance certificate. The Tennessee Home Inspection Program must be listed as the certificate holder. Your insurer should know how to do this.

When submitting the application for a license, you must include a $300 fee. This is not refundable, and you must submit all required documentation within 60 days of the application submission date. Otherwise, you will void your fee and have to do it all over again, including the nonrefundable payment. Instructions for the application form are on the first page below. The second page is the actual form.

http://www.tn.gov/assets/entities/commerce/attachments/HomeInspectorApplicationRequirements.pdf

http://www.tn.gov/assets/entities/commerce/attachments/HomeInspectorApplication.pdf