Veterinarian License Requirements In Arkansas

Doctors of veterinary medicine are licensed in Arkansas by the Veterinary Medical Examining Board. This is a doctorate-level profession. And there are also some exam requirements to determine whether applicants are prepared for the profession. There are approximately 900 actively licensed vets in this state. A study in 2012 found that they were averaging about $80,000 in annual income.

In Arkansas, only US citizens or lawful residents can be a vet. And all applicants must be at least 21 years of age. Moral and ethical character are also considered in the application process since vets work on live animals.

Applicants must have a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree. Foreign degrees are acceptable if the program of study is certified by the ECFVG.

There are two licensing exams for Arkansas veterinarian candidates. The most challenging one is the nationally administered exam, which is the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination. It tests whether you actually have the knowledge to be a vet. The other test is on Arkansas law. This one is to make sure applicants under the local rules they have to follow when practicing in this state.

Note: If you took the National Board Exam and Clinical Competency Test before the NAVLE became the standard test, then you can submit those scores. The State Board Exam is administered by the Arkansas Board.

There is also a separate Poultry Specialty Exam. The Board has an application fee of $100, plus $100 more if you take the Poultry Specialty Exam. But the NAVLE is more expensive. It is $550, at least as of 2016. If you want a temporary permit before completing the national exam, then the fee is $50.

Contact the Board for an application if you don’t have one yet.

AR Veterinary Board
P.O. Box 8505
Little Rock, AR 72215

Visit the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners website to get application information for the NAVLE exam. You can also take a practice test there and get preparation tips.

Comments And Updates